Thoughts on HOA Board Membership?

Questions on how we spend our money and our time - consumer goods and services, home and vehicle, leisure and recreational activities
Topic Author
Random Poster

Thoughts on HOA Board Membership?

Post by Random Poster »

I’m considering running for an open spot on the neighborhood HOA board.

I have no board experience and am relatively new to the neighborhood and so I may not win, but regardless, I figure it might be worth a shot. The board is still controlled by the developer and no one seems to have any official title (as in, it isn’t clear who is officially the president, or treasurer, or secretary, etc).

However, for those who have experience with such matters, what are the pros and cons to being on a neighborhood HOA board?

If it matters, the board currently only has 3 positions and the neighborhood has around 100 houses.

Thanks.
Soon2BXProgrammer

Re: Thoughts on HOA Board Membership?

Post by Soon2BXProgrammer »

I haven't served on an HOA board, but other boards.

I will only participate if the organization provides insurance:

https://www.travelers.com/professional- ... non-profit

this has actually been an issue with some small organizations (think PTAs)... i will participate (donate, donate time, etc) but not hold a formal role, unless they agree to provide liability insurance .
Earned 43 (and counting) credit hours of financial planning related education from a regionally accredited university, but I am not your advisor.
runner3081

Post by runner3081 »

It is a miserable, thankless job, but I always stay involved because I don't trust other people, haha. Have been on HOA boards for 10+ years now.

We have insurance coverage for board members, I wouldn't do it otherwise.
Sic Vis Pacem

Post by Sic Vis Pacem »

I was on the Board of an HOA for our condo association for four years.