Changes to LastPass free

Questions on how we spend our money and our time - consumer goods and services, home and vehicle, leisure and recreational activities
Topic Author
neuro84

Changes to LastPass free

Post by neuro84 »

I have been using LastPass to store all my passwords for about 5-6 years now, I think based on a recommendation from this forum originally. In that time the company has changed ownership once but I have remained satisfied with the product. Although I initially paid for the subscription version (this was $1/mo when I started), I later "downgraded" to free, since the free version did everything I needed it to do. However, now this is going to change soon, per an email I received today:
What's changing in LastPass Free?

Beginning March 16, 2021, LastPass Free will include access on one device type of your choice. The first device you login with on or after March 16 will set your active device type.

If you choose computer as your device type, LastPass Free will work on all computers in your life:
ALL Computer Devices
ALL desktop computers
ALL laptop computers

If you choose mobile as your device type, LastPass Free will work on all mobile devices in your life:
ALL Mobile Devices
ALL mobile phones
ALL tablets
ALL smartwatches
Of course, LastPass realizes that one of the major perks of having a password manager is the autofill function that saves typing on both PC and smartphone visits to websites and apps. Limiting free users to one or the other will force many to start subscribing.

While I still find their product appealing, this change has me looking around at other password managers - especially free or very cheap options - to see whether I might get the same functionality I currently get from LastPass from an alternate password manager. There have been multiple Bogleheads threads on this subject through the years, but I didn't find any recent discussion, so I hope my posting isn't too redundant.