Thought about buying a small motor home, but the market is crazy; Just bought one!!

Questions on how we spend our money and our time - consumer goods and services, home and vehicle, leisure and recreational activities
Topic Author
willthrill81

Thought about buying a small motor home, but the market is crazy; Just bought one!!

Post by willthrill81 »

SEE THE UPDATE HERE

Our family recently rented a 24' class C motor home to travel to Yellowstone and the Grand Tetons. We owned a travel trailer for a few years and really enjoyed it, but we sold it years ago and no longer own a vehicle capable of towing anything. We loved the experience of traveling in the motor home with our small daughter. It was incredibly convenient to always have our kitchen, pantry, refrigerator, bed, bathroom, bed, daughter's stuff, etc.

We try to be very financially responsible and thought that going forward we would always 'rent our fun'. But given my career as a professor, I have a lot of free time in the summers for us to travel, and we plan on all of our pleasure trips for the next 5-7 years being on the road only (i.e. virtually no flying). After crunching the numbers many times, we believed that buying a gently used motor home a few years old in the range of $50k-$60k would enable us to at least break even compared to staying in hotels and likely save us some money. We are fully aware of the risks and maintenance involved with owning such a motor home. Partly for both of those reasons, we have been strongly attracted to the class B motor homes (i.e. van conversions) as they appear to be sturdier and less prone to the problems associated with class A and C motor homes. They also tend to be quieter while driving. Lastly, we could park a class B in our driveway without causing any problems in our HOA, but this isn't true of any other type of RV, and our garage is too small to house what we need. We aren't at all interested in having it stored off our property.