Italian traffic fine with U.S. debt collector-revisited?

Questions on how we spend our money and our time - consumer goods and services, home and vehicle, leisure and recreational activities
Topic Author
bglhdintraining

Italian traffic fine with U.S. debt collector-revisited?

Post by bglhdintraining »

Today I was contacted by a Ceders Business Services, a debt collection agency in CA, regarding a traffic violation from April of 2018, from Siena, Italy. I was not aware I had entered or parked in a restricted area at the time and no violation was on my vehicle; the ticket was issued from a video camera file. I am a handicapped veteran and thought since I showed a Policeman near by I had a Handicapped parking pass it was ok to park there at the time. The Policeman did not object to me parking in a spot where another car had just vacated, close to where we were going for a picture. No citation was on the car when we returned 20 min later. When I did get my first notice of this violation from the Italian Police it was September of 2019. It asked for 140Euros and for me to respond in Italian. I don't know Italian, so I just sent a picture of my handicapped sticker along with a brief note in English, enclosing the information they sent me without any money; I never heard back; thought everything was fine till this call today from Ceders Business Services, requesting me to pay $400+.

I note in 2019, others posted here on similar experience. I am curious as to the outcomes/advice...is there any clear way to resolve this? The debt collection rep I talked with today, said they would be calling several times now, till I paid up. Asking for experienced advise...thanks.
typical.investor

Re: Italian traffic fine with U.S. debt collector-revisited?

Post by typical.investor »