Learning Violin as an adult? 7 years, new recording

Questions on how we spend our money and our time - consumer goods and services, home and vehicle, leisure and recreational activities
Topic Author
investingdad

Learning Violin as an adult? 7 years, new recording

Post by investingdad »

Seven year milestone achieved.

-----
Any folks on here decide they'd like to learn to play an instrument for the first time as an adult and total beginner? As in, you cannot even read music?

If so, what did you try and how did it go?

My daughter has been playing the flute for two years and had her first public recital this weekend. She sounded really good.

My son just started the saxophone in school and is picking it up just fine.

I played the trumpet in elementary school, never learned to read music properly, and decided that I hated it.

However, I think at 43 I may want to have another go. Not the trumpet. In fact, nothing that requires me to blow air. One thing I've learned over the years is that I have a knack for manipulating tools with my hands and fingers...and, even though I understand it may be an awful choice, I'm wondering if the violin may bee a good choice. I love classical music.

So...please, either talk me into it or out of it.

I would be self teaching to start.
Last edited by investingdad on Mon Jan 08, 2024 8:21 am, edited 32 times in total.
corysold

Re: Learning an instrument as an adult?

Post by corysold »

I took up the piano at 34 with ZERO musical experience.

My MIL is a retired music teacher and started giving my children lessons, so I tagged along and started as well.

I guess it has gone ok over 2.5 years. I am still very much a beginner, but can play a few songs and have a general idea of what is going on.

I do notice my kids pick up things much faster than I do, though I can learn harder concepts as an adult than they can, if that makes sense.