Is it possible to time the market?

Discuss all general (i.e. non-personal) investing questions and issues, investing news, and theory.
Topic Author
crashdummy847

Is it possible to time the market?

Post by crashdummy847 »

Newbie here! I've heard the quote along the lines of"It's not about timing the market, it's about time in the market". Why do people so often discourage timing the market? Are there no ways to predict a stock rising in price over the course of days, months or even within a year?
secondopinion

Re: Is it possible to time the market?

Post by secondopinion »

crashdummy847 wrote: Sat Oct 23, 2021 10:55 am Newbie here! I've heard the quote along the lines of"It's not about timing the market, it's about time in the market". Why do people so often discourage timing the market? Are there no ways to predict a stock rising in price over the course of days, months or even within a year?
Impossible, no. Unlikely to do it right, yes. Long-term, all stocks are determined by earnings; what make you money here for long-term is entirely different than the short-term. Long-term stock holders are definitely not timing the markets.

I had made shorter term trades (6 months to 18 months), but generally it is localized risk for localized return (meaning that I am not timing it for lows and highs but possibly making profits on selective risks).

Forget timing it. Speculation is about probabilities because it is impossible to guarantee anything. I have made/lost money on both highs and lows; timing it is pointless because it does little to make superior returns (the lack of investment will actually cost you).
Passive investing: not about making big bucks but making profits. Active investing: not about beating the market but meeting goals. Speculation: not about timing the market but taking profitable risks.
arcticpineapplecorp.

Post by arcticpineapplecorp. »