Why Jack Bogle Doesn't (Didn't) Own Non-US Stocks

Discuss all general (i.e. non-personal) investing questions and issues, investing news, and theory.
Topic Author
PackersFan12

Why Jack Bogle Doesn't (Didn't) Own Non-US Stocks

Post by PackersFan12 »

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=P54trh0 ... star%2CInc

What is your reaction to this video?
stan1

Re: Why Jack Bogle Doesn't (Didn't) Own Non-US Stocks

Post by stan1 »

I'd recommend reading this page (including the links)
https://investor.vanguard.com/investing ... -investing

Do you think Jack is right or do you think Vanguard is right? Why?
tc101

Post by tc101 »

I don't think this has been discussed here before, so I am very interested in what people have to say about it.
. | The most important thing you should know about me is that I am not an expert.
JBTX

Post by JBTX »

tc101 wrote: Wed Jul 21, 2021 9:04 pm I don't think this has been discussed here before, so I am very interested in what people have to say about it.
Indeed! I'm sure the definitive and concensus answer will be sorted out quickly.
Johnathon Livingston

Post by Johnathon Livingston »

My reaction is that there is no other expert on investing that I respect more than Jack Bogle, and I wish he was still with us.
JoMoney

Post by JoMoney »

tc101 wrote: Wed Jul 21, 2021 9:04 pm I don't think this has been discussed here before, so I am very interested in what people have to say about it.
Yes, must have been two or three minutes since the last thread about whether or not international is necessary.

I'm with Jack, I think U.S. investors can (and have) do just fine ignoring international. There are additional costs, tax considerations, and risks.
That said, it's been awhile since global ex-US has outperformed, sooner or later it will. Figure out a portfolio and strategy you can stick with.
"To achieve satisfactory investment results is easier than most people realize; to achieve superior results is harder than it looks." - Benjamin Graham