Record keeping with Excel

Discuss all general (i.e. non-personal) investing questions and issues, investing news, and theory.
Topic Author
jcheyman

Record keeping with Excel

Post by jcheyman »

I'm new to investing and I've been reading here and there about the importance of tracking your wealth from year to year so you can see if you're hitting your goals and where you need to make readjustments etc. I would like to start an Excel file to do just that, but it's a little overwhelming trying to figure out where to start. Does anyone have any templates or basic ideas for the types of information one should keep track of and how to go about doing it?

Thanks,
JH
cheese_breath

Re: Record keeping with Excel

Post by cheese_breath »

I have set of Excel spreadsheets I use to manage my expenses and track my investments. It's probably more than you are looking for, but it may give you some ideas for constructing your own spreadsheets. I'd be happy to send you some conceptual models with fictitious numbers if you will PM me with your Email address.
The surest way to know the future is when it becomes the past.
dumbbunny

Post by dumbbunny »

“It’s the curse of old men to realize that in the end we control nothing." "Homeland" episode, "Gerontion"
Doc

Post by Doc »

jcheyman wrote:Does anyone have any templates or basic ideas for the types of information one should keep track of and how to go about doing it?
Bite the bullet and buy Quicken or some equivalent every three years. The extra cost is far less than the cost of the time you will use up messing with Excel.
A scientist looks for THE answer to a problem, an engineer looks for AN answer and lawyers ONLY have opinions. Investing is not a science.
CantPassAgain

Post by CantPassAgain »

Doc wrote:
jcheyman wrote:Does anyone have any templates or basic ideas for the types of information one should keep track of and how to go about doing it?