Tax efficient brokerage investments

Have a question about your personal investments? No matter how simple or complex, you can ask it here.
Topic Author
Fizzlefazzle

Tax efficient brokerage investments

Post by Fizzlefazzle »

Hello,

This is my first year maxing all my possible tax advantaged accounts (401k, HSA, Roth IRA) and am looking to start a brokerage. In the past I’ve dumped extra funds into student loan prepayments, but those are now refinanced to a 2.1% and my mortgage is at 2.99%. I’ve decided to split the extra monthly between extra payments and a brokerage. I am in the 35% tax bracket. I am about (Hopefully) 19 years from planned retirement in which I’m sure my tax bracket will be lower. I would like to open my brokerage at Vanguard. What are tax efficient ETFs or MFs I should look at?
retiredjg

Re: Tax efficient brokerage investments

Post by retiredjg »

Total Stock Market Index and/or Total International Stock Index are the usual suggestions. If you need bonds in taxable, a tax-exempt bond fund...possibly half in a fund specific to your state.

Welcome to the forum. :happy
ruralavalon

Post by ruralavalon »

Fizzlefazzle wrote: Fri Jan 28, 2022 6:18 pm Hello,

This is my first year maxing all my possible tax advantaged accounts (401k, HSA, Roth IRA) and am looking to start a brokerage. In the past I’ve dumped extra funds into student loan prepayments, but those are now refinanced to a 2.1% and my mortgage is at 2.99%. I’ve decided to split the extra monthly between extra payments and a brokerage. I am in the 35% tax bracket. I am about (Hopefully) 19 years from planned retirement in which I’m sure my tax bracket will be lower. I would like to open my brokerage at Vanguard. What are tax efficient ETFs or MFs I should look at?