Where to go post-Facet management

Have a question about your personal investments? No matter how simple or complex, you can ask it here.
Topic Author
apadapa

Where to go post-Facet management

Post by apadapa »

Hey folks. I'm a mid-30s engineer who just got tired of paying $2400/yr (>2% of my annual spending!) to Facet for "everything looks good" twice a year and left them.

I'm moving jobs, and assessing some future purchase viability, and would love to get anything from gut reactions to in-depth critiques.

I'll try to post in the Portfolio Questions format, whose fields I'm going to bold with as few digressions as possible. But please let me know if I've left anything out or could do better here.

So. My money is broken across a few accounts right now. Most investment is in a set of Fidelity accounts, but I keep a lot of cash in a money market as well.

Cash in money market:
- Emergency fund: 50k
- House down payment: 200k
- Fun money (I'm on the lookout to upgrade a bike and a car, and would like to be able to travel if this pandemic thing relaxes): 35k

The house down payment is a large chunk of the proceeds from my last house sale, which I didn't want to invest into a volatile market in case I found something I really liked and wanted liquidity to make an offer fast. That hasn't happened yet... :|

I'd be okay with investing some or all of it if the destination was sufficiently low-risk and reasonably quick to liquidate. The money market gets a whopping 0.48%

Back to the template.

Current retirement assets

Tax filing status: Single

Tax Rate: 35% Federal Marginal (~27% effective), 0% State

State of Residence: Washington

Desired Asset allocation: Not sure, but maybe something less risky than what I have now. Currently sitting heavy on domestic stock (67% domestic/15% foreign/15% bonds/3% short term).

Taxable Accounts (I have a few, and the more spread ones I'll put into tables for readability, and give quantity breakdowns):