Early retiree: market volitility and living expenses

Have a question about your personal investments? No matter how simple or complex, you can ask it here.
Topic Author
Tejfyy

Early retiree: market volitility and living expenses

Post by Tejfyy »

I’m in my first year of early retirement and think I have a handle on investing thanks to Bogleheads. I’m using the VPW and invested in two broad index funds for stocks and for bonds. I’ve got cash (CDs, savings and ibonds) for living expenses for 4 years. The bulk of my retirement is in an IRA, an annuity and a Roth.

In mid 2020, I invested an additional year’s worth of living expenses into SWTSX (a taxable account). It’s increased something like 45% until this recent drop.

At the end of last year and the beginning of this year, I bought ibonds from my living expenses cash which “depleted” my cash on hand. By that I mean, in June/July I’ll need to either crack open a CD early incurring a penalty or, I was thinking of selling some of the SWTSX. I hadn’t planned on getting into ibonds when I had opened the CDs thus the quagmire.

This current drop in the market has made me nervous. Should I sell the SWTSX now? Or should I wait until I need the cash in June and decide then what to do: Liquidate a CD or sell the fund? The penalties are not outrageous, the interest rates on these CDs are 0.70% and 1.25%. I don't pay taxes on LT capital gains, but they do affect my ACA premium subsidy.
ResearchMed

Re: Early retiree: market volitility and living expenses

Post by ResearchMed »

Could you help us out and give the name of "SWTSX" so each person reading your post doesn't need to look it up?

Thanks.

RM
This signature is a placebo. You are in the control group.
sycamore

Post by sycamore »

It seems that your risk tolerance is variable. This could be problematic. Stocks are not down all that much. Sure, today's market was a roller coaster ride but in the grand scheme of stock investing it's entirely normal.