New at investing, general ?s

Have a question about your personal investments? No matter how simple or complex, you can ask it here.
Topic Author
rgm1982

New at investing, general ?s

Post by rgm1982 »

Hi ya'll,
First time posting, I'm pretty much a newb in the world of investing, so please pardon me if this post is a bit long winded and I ask a bunch of dumb questions...

I had been saving for a few years to buy a house, but unfortunately I live in Austin and the market here pretty much exploded during covid with no signs of slowing down, so now that I can't afford to buy here anymore I need to decide how best to allocate my $50k downpayment to work best for me

I may still try to reserve some of that money to buy a cheaper rental property in a market I can afford, still looking into those options to see if it's viable...meanwhile for whatever is leftover there's stocks, bonds, reits, crypto, etc, and I'm in a little over my head with some of this stuff. Just curious to see how other folks who are wiser than me would allocate their funds if they had this amount to play around with.

A friend of mine put me in touch with his financial advisor, who wants me to put $12k in a roth IRA and fork over another $20-25k to put into a managed fund. I told him I'd think about it and come back with a bunch of intelligent questions, so...what would be some intelligent questions to ask him?
His firm charges 1.25% for each fund, I don't really know if that's good or not...I know I can use robo advisors and invest in index funds for much less in fees and never have to touch it, but would that be better than the return on a professionally managed account, even with the fees? The one thing he offered that I liked is that the stock fund would be liquid, so if the opportunity ever did come up to buy a home again I could instantly pull the money out and still use a downpayment if I wanted to.