Early 30s-- planning for the long term

Have a question about your personal investments? No matter how simple or complex, you can ask it here.
Topic Author
mb189

Early 30s-- planning for the long term

Post by mb189 »

Hi All! I am new to the forum here and relatively new to all the technical details of modern portfolio theory. That said, I have a graduate degree in a quantitative field and an undergrad degree in Econ. We've only had any significant money to invest for the last ~2 years due to spending ~5 years each in graduate school, paying off student loans, and finally buying a house. In retrospect I wish we had set aside a small amount earlier but it was nearly impossible until we achieved those goals. Nevertheless we have a solid foundation to work from and are looking forward to doing long term planning.

Emergency funds: 6 months living expenses. My wife has the most stable healthcare job in the world, we could temporarily live off either income if needed, and we have no shortage of access to credit.

Debt: We owe 40k on one car (purchased a month ago) and other is paid off. We obviously could pay off the existing car loan but I see no reason to do so in current interest rate environment.

We owe ~360k on house @ 2.5% fixed 30 year, purchased in 2020. House was recently appraised at ~550k (part of that is market appreciation, most of that is we renovated a lot of the house ourselves). Our mortgage + interest + insurance + taxes is ~2300 all in. Our house is very "safe" in that we are not in a HCOL area with crazy appreciation right now, solid school district, gated community, etc. So even if the housing market overall got hit very hard, I am *extremely* confident that our home equity is reasonably safe. It is basically perfect for a millennial family of 4.

No CC/revolving debt.

Tax Filing Status: Married filing jointly

Tax Rate: We just barely cross into 32 federal but get back to 24 with 401k witholding.

State of Residence: FL