Firefighter needs help to FIRE

Have a question about your personal investments? No matter how simple or complex, you can ask it here.
Topic Author
Samcdonough

Firefighter needs help to FIRE

Post by Samcdonough »

Hello and thank you for any considerations for my situation. I’m fairly new to investing in a reasonably intelligent manner and want to learn from people with much more knowledge and experience if I’m on the right track with taxes, bond allocation, and a few minor points.

Emergency funds: Three Months in Credit Union savings account
Cash in our checking has about 1.5 months worth of expenses at all times and is used to pay credit cards and any major bills like mortgage HOA etc that don’t accept cards.

Debt: Mortgage recently refinanced to a 20 year term just under 180,000 at 2.625%. We intend to stay in this house for at least 12-15 years and will more than likely pay it off in that time.
Car Loan: about 6,400 left on mine at 4.49% (this will be paid off in 8-12 months) Hers was paid off this summer. Unexpectedly we both had to replace our paid off cars the same month in spring of 2019.
Credit cards are paid off in full weekly and points used for travel

Tax Filing Status: Married Filing Jointly

Tax Rate: 22% Federal, 5% State

State of Residence: Maryland

Age: 34 years old hoping to retire at 48-50 with eligibility at 45 for normal fire department retirement.

Desired Asset allocation: Open to suggestion but currently equity heavy and comfortable. See question 2
Desired International allocation: Open to suggestion but intend to build to 20% of equities from 0% now

Please provide an approximate size of your total portfolio 175,000. Was investing very modestly and was mislead by a financial advisor(whole life insurance salesman) before I was made financially aware 2-3 years ago. Lots of wasted time and money but helped cement my investment philosophy.

Current retirement assets approximately

Taxable