Need to Invest 400k and Portfolio Help Requested

Have a question about your personal investments? No matter how simple or complex, you can ask it here.
Topic Author
naha

Need to Invest 400k and Portfolio Help Requested

Post by naha »

Hello,

I’m a newbie investor and I just started studying investing and came across this website. My mother has become disabled and she cannot live independently, so she recently sold her property and moved in with me and my husband. She gifted me a lump sum of money ($700k) from selling her property. She does not want to burden us financially and she wants us to invest the money well. My husband wants to open his own dental practice in the near future (within 1 year), so we are keeping 300k in our checking account and trying to invest 400k following the three-fund portfolio. We also need to reallocate our retirement funds since we randomly picked the funds and left some cash uninvested for a few years. Our goal is to keep our portfolio as simple as possible and invest for the next 10-15 years until we can coast FIRE. As a new investor, I want to feel confident with my investment plan and I also want to get help and support from people who have already accomplished FI from investing well.

Emergency Funds: 6 months

Debt: 
1. Primary Residence: 470k mortgage at interest rate 2.6%
2. Rental Property: 135k mortgage at interest rate 3.5%

Tax Filing Status: Married Filing Jointly

Tax Rate: 22% Federal, No State Income Tax

State of Residence: NV

Desired Asset allocation: 90% stocks / 10% bonds
Desired International allocation: 20% of stocks

Approximate size of your total portfolio: 700k

Current Retirement Assets

Taxable
57% Cash. Plan to invest 400k at Vanguard. VTSAX / VTIAX / VBTLX (70/20/10)

39% Vanguard Total Stock Market Index Fund Admiral Shares (VTSAX) (0.04%)
11% Vanguard Total International Stock Index Fund Admiral Shares (VTIAX) (0.11%)
7% Vanguard Total Bond Market Index Fund Admiral Shares (VBTLX) (0.05%)