38 yr old with a question about structured settlement

Have a question about your personal investments? No matter how simple or complex, you can ask it here.
Topic Author
h08151952

38 yr old with a question about structured settlement

Post by h08151952 »

Hello Everyone,

This is my first time posting on this forum.

I received a 1 million dollar settlement.

I am considering a structured settlement versus lump sum.

I read the Bogleheads windfall wiki. It was very helpful.

I do not want this money to change my life. I want to invest it carefully for my child and family. I grew up in a poor immigrant family which
really gave me drive and a hard work ethic. I do not want this to affect my child.

I hope you can help guide me to books I can read, places to find trustworthy information. I am nervous about talking to financial planners because I just don't know who I can trust.

Both myself and my partner have professional jobs and we still have graduate school debt at about 200k(combined), rent an apartment,
we do not have credit card debt.

Thank you for your time and advice!
anon_investor

Re: 38 yr old with a question about structured settlement

Post by anon_investor »

h08151952 wrote: Mon Oct 11, 2021 9:35 pm Hello Everyone,

I do not want this money to change my life. I want to invest it carefully for my child and family. I grew up in a poor immigrant family which
really gave me drive and a hard work ethic. I do not want this to affect my child.

I hope you can help guide me to books I can read, places to find trustworthy information. I am nervous about talking to financial planners because I just don't know who I can trust.

Both myself and my partner have professional jobs and we still have graduate school debt at about 200k(combined), rent an apartment,

Take the lump sum, pay off that debt, save/invest the rest (don't spend it).
sport

Post by sport »

Welcome to the forum.