Want advice as a 19 year old investor.

Have a question about your personal investments? No matter how simple or complex, you can ask it here.
Topic Author
AsteriskMaximus

Want advice as a 19 year old investor.

Post by AsteriskMaximus »

Hello Bogleheads community!

I began investing a month ago by opening a taxable Schwab Intelligent Portfolio (SIP) account and adding $16,000 from my savings while keeping $4,000 in cash. I believe this was the best course of action because I am currently a student with a extremely flexible but low paying job. I thought that the SIP could act as a high risk, high returns savings while I am young. I have no debt.

Eventually, I will be moving out on my own and continue pursuing a degree. The $4,000 cash will work as an emergency fund for rent, food, and activities. I have scholarships for tuition. I am unsure if I need more cash in the future, so any income I make will be added to this emergency fund until I feel comfortable allocating more to my investments.

I also don't see the benefit of a Roth IRA/401k at this moment because I am unsure how far my emergency fund will carry me. I want to be able to liquidate my assets in the case of any emergency. Once I secure a more formidable full-time job with a 401k I will begin contributing to an IRA/401k.

My total portfolio (SIP + CASH) is composed of:
19.4% CASH
21.7% Schwab Fundamental U.S. Large Company Index ETF (FNDX) (0.25%)
17.9% Schwab US Large-Cap ETF (SCHX) (0.03%)
16.3% Schwab Fundamental U.S. Small Company Index ETF (FNDA) (0.25%)
10.2% Schwab US Small-Cap ETF (SCHA) (0.04%)
07.8% Schwab Fundamental International Large Company Index ETF (FNDF) (0.25%)
05.2% Schwab International Equity ETF SCHF (SCHF) (0.06%)
01.6% Schwab US REIT ETF (SCHH) (0.07%)