Should I add vbtlx and vtiax to my taxable brokerage?

Have a question about your personal investments? No matter how simple or complex, you can ask it here.
Topic Author
Lilybluerose

Should I add vbtlx and vtiax to my taxable brokerage?

Post by Lilybluerose »

Emergency funds: Three to six months of expenses (I have $20k in an emergency fund in my online savings account)

Debt: Around $113k left on my mortgage. 4.2% interest

Tax Filing Status: (Married filing jointly with 2 child dependents) Husband is unemployed

Tax Rate: xx% Federal, xx% State- I am not sure. I used a calculator online and it says- 22%

State of Residence: PA

Desired Asset allocation: xx% stocks / xx% bonds
Desired International allocation: xx% of stocks I am sorry, but I am not sure. I am pretty new to this.

Please provide an approximate size of your total portfolio - I started very late and am trying really hard to catch up.

Show us your current portfolio including all investment and retirement accounts I use vanguard. I am self employed.
Taxable Brokerage= $15k
Roth IRA= 40k
solo 401k= 45.5k

Taxable
VTSAX Expense ratio= 0.04%

Roth IRA= VFIFX Vanguard target retirement 2050 Expense ratio= 0.15%

Solo 401k= VFIFX Vanguard target retirement 2050 Expense ratio= 0.15%

Contributions- I maxed out the roth and 401k, and now have money that I would like to invest, outside of my emergency fund, and around 130k I am leaving in a savings account to save up to buy a new house.

Questions:

My allocation for everything on my vanguard is

Stocks 91.4% - domestic 66 percent international 33%

Bonds 8.6%

I chose vtsax for my brokerage after reading the simple path to wealth. I'm reading more on the Bogle site about the 3 fund with vtsax /vbtlx/vtiax.

I was wondering if it's a bad idea to add the vbtlx and vtiax to a taxable brokerage account?

Should I add these to my 401k and Ira next year instead?