Please Help Me with TIPS/Treasuries

Have a question about your personal investments? No matter how simple or complex, you can ask it here.
Topic Author
Lee Timmer

Please Help Me with TIPS/Treasuries

Post by Lee Timmer »

Hello, all. Newbie here, and I don't mean just as a member. I'm hoping someone can help me with TIPS and treasuries.

I'm 49 years old and got a somewhat late start in investing. I'm investing roughly 58% of my monthly income, as I have very little debt. Having said that, is it advisable to own both TIPS and treasury bonds in a portfolio? I'm starting to learn about TIPS but am still confused. I'm not necessarily looking for growth (they're bonds, after all) but protection/preservation. ANY help will be greatly appreciated. I love this forum; it's very helpful.
NMBob

Re: Please Help Me with TIPS/Treasuries

Post by NMBob »

AnnetteLouisan

Post by AnnetteLouisan »

Lee Timmer wrote: Mon Sep 20, 2021 3:06 pm Hello, all. Newbie here, and I don't mean just as a member. I'm hoping someone can help me with TIPS and treasuries.

I'm 49 years old and got a somewhat late start in investing. I'm investing roughly 58% of my monthly income, as I have very little debt. Having said that, is it advisable to own both TIPS and treasury bonds in a portfolio? I'm starting to learn about TIPS but am still confused. I'm not necessarily looking for growth (they're bonds, after all) but protection/preservation. ANY help will be greatly appreciated. I love this forum; it's very helpful.
Series I bonds
Topic Author
Lee Timmer

Post by Lee Timmer »

AnnetteLouisan wrote: Mon Sep 20, 2021 3:29 pm
Lee Timmer wrote: Mon Sep 20, 2021 3:06 pm Hello, all. Newbie here, and I don't mean just as a member. I'm hoping someone can help me with TIPS and treasuries.

Series I bonds