Portfolio allocation with rental houses?

Have a question about your personal investments? No matter how simple or complex, you can ask it here.
Topic Author
jayes619

Portfolio allocation with rental houses?

Post by jayes619 »

Hello all, I'm new to the forums and to investing in general, I've been reading and studying but I would like some of your advice on my portfolio and situation!

I am a self employed general contractor, and also invest in real estate. I know this isn't a real estate investing forum, but I'd like to quickly explain my real estate situation. My primary residence is a duplex, and I have the other unit rented and generating $430 per month after expenses (property tax/insurance). I live in the largest unit for absolutely free, if I wasn't living here then the duplex would bring in $1330 per month after expenses. I also own another single family home which brings in $900 profit after expenses.

My main goal is to achieve an annual $75,000 net income from the rentals. I estimate that I would need to purchase an additional 4 homes to reach this goal. I need around $200,000 cash to do reach this goal (I buy destroyed homes and rehab them so I don't pay labor, and I use a lot of second-hand materials so if this number seems low, that is why). I am a firm Dave Ramsey follower and am not interested in taking on any debt or mortgages.

I currently have around $10,000 per month to invest or save towards the rentals. Currently, I am auto-investing $520 weekly in my SEP IRA (that is 15% of my gross income) and the rest goes into savings for the real estate purchases. Ideally, I'd like to reach my real estate goal in slightly over 2 years, and I am on track to do so.