ABLE accounts

Discuss all general (i.e. non-personal) investing questions and issues, investing news, and theory.
Topic Author
dave_5

ABLE accounts

Post by dave_5 »

I am a person with a disability and recently found out about ABLE accounts. I did some research on this and the Virginia plan looked decent, but would like to know your input if you've had experience with some of the other states, I also looked at the one from Tennessee. I'm a working professional, but am looking to legally shield more of my money from taxation. I've also considered HSA's in the past, but due to the ongoing medical expenses related to my disability makes them less than favorable.

The way I understand the ABLE account is that it operates kind of like a Roth IRA, it's after tax. What I didn't like about it, supposedly upon the death of the owner, it goes to probate. Any experience with this kind of stuff? I'm mostly not concerned about possible public benefit eligibility at present time since I work. Supposedly, they came about in 2014, but this is my first time hearing about them.
beyou

Re: ABLE accounts

Post by beyou »

The disability must have started by age 26.

If not on SSI, you will need some doctors note attesting to your disability.

You can contribute 15k/year.

There is a list of qualified expenses you may use to spend this on. Or you can invest.

Fees are there for various services, but I found the VA NOW had better fees and good investment choices compared to my own state.

ABLE NOW in VA does seem to be an excellent option.
JBTX

Post by JBTX »