Planning mom's retirement portfolio - sanity check

Have a question about your personal investments? No matter how simple or complex, you can ask it here.
Topic Author
wolfv

Planning mom's retirement portfolio - sanity check

Post by wolfv »

After reading the excellent book "Bogleheads' Guide To Investing", I offered to manage my mom's investments.
I think the following is a good plan, but I am no expert. There could very well be a misconception or error lurking in the plan.

The following is mom's-portfolio-related information.

Emergency funds: ready for emergency

Debt: $0

Tax Filing Status: Single

Tax Rate
Federal:
- Marginal tax rate - Ordinary income 10.0%
- Marginal tax rate - Capital income 0.0%
State: 4.90% Marginal tax rate

State of Residence: New Mexico

Desired Asset allocation: 50% stock / 25% bond / 25% Inflation-Protected Securities
Desired International allocation: 10% of stock

Taxable account
33% Vanguard Total Stock Market Index Fund Admiral Shares (VTSAX)
10% Vanguard Total International Stock Index Fund Admiral Shares (VTIAX)
5% Vanguard Total Bond Market Index Fund Admiral Shares (VBTLX)
10% Vanguard Inflation-Protected Securities Fund Admiral Shares (VAIPX)
11% Vanguard Balanced Index Fund Admiral Shares (VBIAX)
-- VBIAX is legacy, do not purchase.

traditional IRA account
15% Vanguard Inflation-Protected Securities Fund Admiral Shares (VAIPX)
15% Vanguard Short-Term Bond Index Fund Admiral Shares (VBIRX)

No Roth IRA account because viewtopic.php?p=6066903#p6066903

Balancing portfolios
- Set all fund cost basis to Specific ID.
- Check asset allocations annually or quarterly after distributions.
- Withdraw RMD from tIRA overweight funds.
- For withdraw from taxable account, use Specific ID to sell the most expensive shares (minimize LTCG) that are more than 1 year old (to avoid STCG)
- Reinvest taxable distributions into underweight funds.
- Rebalance if asset allocation is off by more than 5%.