Roth IRA vs. Traditional IRA

Have a question about your personal investments? No matter how simple or complex, you can ask it here.
Topic Author
necroman

Roth IRA vs. Traditional IRA

Post by necroman »

Hey gang, I need help with a decision to fund a Roth IRA or a traditional IRA.

Here's my situation:

I am a teacher in Arizona who contributes to the Arizona State Retirement System. This will give me a pension of about 60% of my salary upon retirement for the rest of my life. I contribute 12.4% of my paycheck, pre-tax, to the pension system. The state of AZ matches my contribution.

I make about $80,000-$85,000 a year teaching at a local community college, depending on if I teach some extra classes or not. I am just entering the 24% tax bracket, and I don't think I would ever make enough to move up to a higher bracket, unless I go into administration or something.

I am current 39 years old, and I imagine I'll continue working until at 67, and maybe 70 years old. I have about 30 years left to work.

I figure my pension and Social Security should fund the majority of my retirement.

At the beginning of my teaching career, I also opened up a Roth IRA account as a supplement. I didn't want to open a 403b because my small school district at the time had poor options with a focus on expensive annuities. I also figured a Roth would make more sense because I expected (or hoped) that I would save enough to have more in retirement each year than I would being a poor teacher in Arizona.

But then I got a much higher paying teaching job at a community college, and now my retirement situation is different. I also started reading the Bogleheads Guide to Retirement, and one chapter broke down how we should look at taxes in retirement, and different strategies for withdrawals from different accounts to be as tax efficient as possible.