I savings bonds for emergency fund

Have a question about your personal investments? No matter how simple or complex, you can ask it here.
Topic Author
mrsmitt

I savings bonds for emergency fund

Post by mrsmitt »

I am very new to I bonds and consider investing 20k of our oversized 90k emergency fund that is currently in CDs.
We should be able to wait for a year in case of an emergency.

Should I consider something else before I purchase I bonds? It looks like the base rate is 0% and the coupon will cover only the inflation rate minus federal tax.
MishkaWorries

Re: I savings bonds for emergency fund

Post by MishkaWorries »

You got the details right. I can't think of anything out there right now that is better.
We plan. G-d laughs.
MishkaWorries

Post by MishkaWorries »

MishkaWorries wrote: Fri Apr 23, 2021 4:49 pm You got the details right. I can't think of anything out there right now that is better.
On second thought let me change my answer. If you EF is truly oversized, you should take the surplus and invest it in a taxable account at you preferred asset allocation.
We plan. G-d laughs.
jlmitnick

Post by jlmitnick »

I’m seeing a lot of posts about using I bonds for emergency fund. I’m new to Ibonds myself. I think of an emergency fund as something to have in case you have an unplanned large expense. Why is this a good vehicle as opposed to cash in a savings account or checking account? It seems like you need to hold for 1 year before you’re even allowed to get your money out and 5 years to do so without forfeiting any interest. Also is it really that liquid? Let’s say I buy $10,000 of I bonds each year the next 3 years. In year three I need $6000 to pay for a repair. Is it easy to just pull $6000 out of the bonds and into checking account?
calwatch

Post by calwatch »