New To Investing

Have a question about your personal investments? No matter how simple or complex, you can ask it here.
Topic Author
benstevens

New To Investing

Post by benstevens »

I'm a complete beginner to investing, so I was wondering how do you choose which companies are good to invest in, and which ones to stay away from? I always see people talk about doing your due diligence, but I'm not sure what that entails.
magicrat

Re: New To Investing

Post by magicrat »

I just invest in every public company in the world through total market index funds. No need to form an opinion on any specific company.
retired@50

Post by retired@50 »

benstevens wrote: Mon Apr 19, 2021 10:55 am I'm a complete beginner to investing, so I was wondering how do you choose which companies are good to invest in, and which ones to stay away from? I always see people talk about doing your due diligence, but I'm not sure what that entails.
Welcome to the Bogleheads forum. :happy

If you're interested in investing the Boglehead way, consider reading from the wiki pages.

Start here: https://www.bogleheads.org/wiki/Getting_started

Regards,
If liberty means anything at all it means the right to tell people what they do not want to hear. -George Orwell
ruralavalon

Post by ruralavalon »

Welcome to the forum :).

To start your investing education consider this: https://www.bogleheads.org/wiki/Boglehe ... philosophy

Bogleheads generally suggest broadly diversified index funds with low expense ratios.

Is there a plan offered at work like a 401k, 403b, 457b, SEP IRA, SIMPLE IRA or TSP? If a plan is offered at work then that's usually the best place to start.