Gold and Silver Questions?

Have a question about your personal investments? No matter how simple or complex, you can ask it here.
Topic Author
waltman300

Gold and Silver Questions?

Post by waltman300 »

So I always heard about people buying gold and silver but never read/learned much about it. I know the price of gold and silver is getting higher and higher as I read about this. And you look at it by the ounce. Again im a complete newbie to this.

I got to assume many people here have gold and silver right? I see gold is around l800 an ounce and silver is 25 dollars an ounce. Now my questions are

l. Where do you buy your gold and silver? Is it at a brick and mortar shop? Or is it online? I googled and see a site called jmbullion that seem to be the best site online for buying and selling gold and silver. Do most people do it this way? What about when you sell it? Seem interesting on the jmbullion site how it works where you speak to a rep and then set the agreed in price... then you ship it to them and after they verify everything, pay you out ach or wire or check which seem legit.

2. I see there are tons of different gold and silver bars and coins and many special edition coins etc. But do some of these coins cost more than the standard ounce as oppose to you getting a regular gold/silver coin or bar? Now if you going to buy gold or silver... do you just buy the basic gold/silver bar or coin or which one do you choose? There are like tons of coins and bars on the jmbullion site. Imagine a person want to buy an ounce of gold and l0 ounces of silver for example. What do you recommend?