Please help advise on taking over my own investments

Have a question about your personal investments? No matter how simple or complex, you can ask it here.
Topic Author
nsf113

Please help advise on taking over my own investments

Post by nsf113 »

Hello. I am looking to potentially move my current holdings from my financial advisor and taking them over myself. I will post the details of my holdings below. I recently read a book by JL Collins called "the simple path to wealth" and this has inspired me to change the path of my investing. I am roughly 20 years from retirement and my plan is to follow the methods in the book and move my holdings into index funds. I am not an expert on this subject so please forgive me if I describe or list items improperly. What it boils down to is that I am tired of paying all the fees associated with my financial advisor and I don't feel I need to pay him to invest in log term index funds. I have tried to time the market in the past and this has only cost me money. Here are my details:

Emergency funds: roughly three months worth

Debt: I have zero debt

Tax Filing Status: Married

Tax Rate: depends on the year as I am self employed but typically 22%

State of Residence: MN

Desired Asset allocation: 90% index funds,10% bonds
Desired International allocation: potentially zero

Total portfolio value - $260,000

These are all held by Edward Jones

Taxable
Joint account #1 - 3% VTI - Van. total index (.03)
Joint account #2 - 12% even mix of VEU, VUG, VO, VOO (all Van. index funds) VB (roughly .05 average)

His SEP IRA - recently sold old holdings and went into VTI
8% - VTI (.03)

His Roth IRA - this needs to get invested ASAP
23% - cash

His IRA
3% - even mix of VEU, VXF, VOO, VTI, VUG (roughly .05 average)

Her 403b
16% - Invesco MSIGX (.85)

Her IRA
3% - split between VXF and VTI (.045)

Her Roth IRA
29% - even mix of VEU, VXF, VTI, VOO (roughly .05)