Which appreciated stocks to donate??

Have a question about your personal investments? No matter how simple or complex, you can ask it here.
Topic Author
RJMJfund

Which appreciated stocks to donate??

Post by RJMJfund »

My husband and I would like to donate 18k in appreciated stocks by the end of the year. How do we choose which stock to donate? We received a sizable inheritance earlier in the year. We are planning on selling a fair amount that are in single stocks so we can reinvest into index funds. I'm having a hard time deciding which stocks to sell to reinvest and which to donate. There is a single stock, VRSN, that has 290% gain that we could actually sell most to cover the amount we would like to give. There are other stocks that we want to sell that have a 50-60% gain. Should we just donate everything from VRSN? This is my first time making a donation with appreciated stock and would "appreciate" any advice.

Thank you!!
alex_686

Re: Which appreciated stocks to donate??

Post by alex_686 »

Check on step up cost basis and see if that applies. Assuming it does not..

The most tax efficient method is to gift the stock with the highest unrealized capital gains. Gift - not sell. Your charitable donation would be the value of the stock. If you sold you would have to pay capital gains tax which would reduce the amount that you could gift.

Then comes the more complex question of when to recognize capital gains. You want to get ride of single stocks because you want a diversified portfolio, but that means taxes recognized today instead of delayed. It all depends on your risk tolerance.
Former brokerage operations & mutual fund accountant. I hate risk, which is why I study and embrace it.
livesoft

Post by livesoft »

It is not clear if VRSN was part of the inheritance or not. It is not clear if the inherited stocks received a stepped-up cost basis that is customary and/or if you are reporting that stepped-up basis or some other basis.