What is your percentage of debt to NW?

Have a question about your personal investments? No matter how simple or complex, you can ask it here.
Topic Author
checkyourmath

What is your percentage of debt to NW?

Post by checkyourmath »

0%

I am a renter with no student loans or credit card debt. The only reason I ask the question is because all markets are headed towards all time highs. The debt machine provides a lot of opportunity. My guess is there is probably an ideal percentage somewhere between 5-25%.
Soon2BXProgrammer

Re: What is your percentage of debt to NW?

Post by Soon2BXProgrammer »

0% and I own my home.
Earned 43 (and counting) credit hours of financial planning related education from a regionally accredited university, but I am not your advisor.
H-Town

Post by H-Town »

checkyourmath wrote: Fri Nov 20, 2020 10:18 am 0%

I am a renter with no student loans or credit card debt. The only reason I ask the question is because all markets are headed towards all time highs. The debt machine provides a lot of opportunity. My guess is there is probably an ideal percentage somewhere between 5-25%.
Can you elaborate on your only reason?

Majority of the time, markets are in all time highs.

What do you mean "debt machine provides a lot of opportunity"?

Why do you think an ideal percentage somewhere between 5-25%?
Time is the ultimate currency.
Broken Man 1999

Post by Broken Man 1999 »

I have no debt, I owe this months charges on my CCs, but they are always paid off each month, unless I have a 0% interest for X number of months offer.

How do you know markets are all headed towards all time highs? The markets can, and do decline from their ATHs, not a rare event at all.

How are you going to exploit the "debt machine?" Are you considering borrowing to invest? Buying on margin?

Why do you believe a debt percentage between 5%-25% to be ideal?

Flesh out you ideas, more posters will respond.

Broken Man 1999