Need help to rebalance my complex (to me) portfolios

Have a question about your personal investments? No matter how simple or complex, you can ask it here.
Topic Author
tahap

Need help to rebalance my complex (to me) portfolios

Post by tahap »

Hi, I am a newbie to this forum and seek your advise. We retired 6 years ago and are conservative investors. Due to concerns with the current economy we recently reduced equity holdings and are looking into rebalancing our portfolios. As you see we have a number of accounts at few institutions: Fidelity, Merrill, Employer 401k, Employer pensions, Synchrony Bank, CapitalOne, Bank Of America.

Thank you in advance for your assistance!

Emergency funds: 3 years of expenses
Non-retirement assets: House paid off.
Debt: None
Tax Filing Status: Married Filing Jointly
Tax Rate: 15% Federal, 2% State (earned income)
State of Residence: CA
Retirement assets: Low seven figures
Current asset allocation: 23.5% mutual/target funds and stocks, 49% bonds, 19% cash (CD, MM). I think only 15% of 20% mutual/target funds could be stocks.
Desired asset allocation: 30/70, 25% US stocks, 5% International stocks, 60% bonds, 10% cash

Goal:
-To greatly simplify the portfolio and to better understand asset location and retirement withdrawal strategies.
-Currently since bonds have low yields I swapped them from IRA/taxable portfolio to the Stable Value Funds in my employer 401k/pension and move mutual funds from 401k to taxable accounts. This strategy is to maximize fixed income returns.
- Sell high ER funds and get ETF or Index funds. Streamline and have less funds to track so as to determine if I can self manage my assets without help from paid financial advisor.
- AA across accounts: looking into using Portfolio #3 example as guide.

Current retirement assets

Taxable Joint Accounts at Fidelity/Merrill/Banks Various 13.35% CD/MM
Fidelity 0.41% Mutual Funds Fidelity Contrafund (FCNTX) 0.85