deferred state pension benefits- increase in value?

Have a question about your personal investments? No matter how simple or complex, you can ask it here.
Topic Author
mesaverde

deferred state pension benefits- increase in value?

Post by mesaverde »

Hello,
I am a public school teacher in Virginia and a member of the state pension known as the Virginia Retirement System, VRS.
I am vested and may quit/retire next year (age 47) but do not want to begin taking pension payments until age 65.
According to the VRS website, they estimate my monthly payments starting at age 65 would be $2,228/month. With inflation the value of the $2,228 could easily be cut in half by the time I'm 65.

Hence my question- Typically do deferred state pension benefits increase in value over time (because of pension investment return)?

I've asked the Virginia Retirement System the same question but haven't heard back.
"Learn from the past, live in the present, plan for the future"
FiveK

Re: deferred state pension benefits- increase in value?

Post by FiveK »

mesaverde wrote: Sun Aug 11, 2019 9:42 am Hence my question- Typically do deferred state pension benefits increase in value over time (because of pension investment return)?

I've asked the Virginia Retirement System the same question but haven't heard back.
Don't know about "typically" - anecdotal information suggests "no" - but you really need to know what will happen with yours.

Based on "When you apply for retirement, your benefit will be calculated based on your creditable service and average final compensation at the time you left your position." on p. 62 of https://www.varetire.org/pdf/publicatio ... plan-1.pdf, there doesn't appear to be a benefit increase based only on the fact that you don't start immediately.

But p. 8 of https://www.varetire.org/pdf/publicatio ... ndbook.pdf indicates that Cost of Living Adjustments (COLAs) are applicable.