The need for bonds if I have a pension?

Have a question about your personal investments? No matter how simple or complex, you can ask it here.
Topic Author
CharlesNorris

The need for bonds if I have a pension?

Post by CharlesNorris »

Hey guys, I love the website and the knowledge and confidence it has given me in the markets. I need a little wisdom about the utilization of bonds into my asset allocation. As a teacher, I'm one of the few that have a safe income in retirement in the form of a nice pension. I plan on working 25 more years which will result in a retirement income of 77% of my final average salary. This will be approximately 77k annual retirement income (rough estimate). My wife is also a therapist in the schools and will have a similar type of retirement income of 77k.

I have been pretty active in other retirement accounts in the markets during the past few years although I have the pension. Currently I'm in total stock market indexes and I max my wife and my roths, an HSA, and this year I'm beginning to dump 18k into a 457 plan that was established years ago that I stopped contributing to 5 years ago. I'm 100% stocks and I felt there was no need to be in conservative bonds because I look at my pension money ($144k annually) as my conservative investments. However, my readings throughout this website has made me question about not having bonds in my portfolio. I always thought of bonds as nothing more than a conservative investment but now I'm starting to see it as a way to rebalance the portfolio when stocks are low and bonds are high. Since I have a pension, am I smart to not be invested in bonds or should I allocate some of my funds towards them to take advantage of when stocks are low when I rebalance?

My stats are

Income (combined) 95k. Wife works part time, income will increase 30% in 3 years once young kids are in school