What will happen to my bond interest payments?

Have a question about your personal investments? No matter how simple or complex, you can ask it here.
retiringtype

What will happen to my bond interest payments?

Post by retiringtype » Mon Jul 11, 2016 12:36 pm

HI all. Trying to plan my upcoming retirement and need to determine the monthly income my bond funds can/will generate. So I have a quick question: In the event of a rate rise, and the resulting drop in NAV of a bond fund, what will happen to the monthly interest payments? Will they go up, down or stay about the same? Is there a definitive answer? I figure that the drop in NAV will be made up for by the rise in the rate. But, then again, I'm far from an expert. (That's why I'm here.)

Thanks in advance.

jjface

Re: What will happen to my bond interest payments?

Post by jjface » Mon Jul 11, 2016 12:43 pm

When the fund buys new bonds then the overall yield should increase as these new bonds will have higher yields. So it depends on when the fund buys new bonds which depends on the duration of the fund. I suppose also the amount of new deposits.

The drop in Nav is because new bonds will have higher yields so the old ones you hold paying less yield are worth less. So you do not get compensated for the lower NAV but you can take advantage of higher yields once the old bonds are redeemed at the end of their term.

Phineas J. Whoopee

Post by Phineas J. Whoopee » Mon Jul 11, 2016 2:16 pm

Hi retiringtype. Let's see if I can address your question. It will take a few paragraphs, I'm afraid.

First, we need to get terminology straight. It's extremely important, because we often go around and around, and have incorrect assertions made here at bogleheads.org simply because people use one term when they mean another.